AZ Department of public safety
change of procedure notification
**** As of October 2020, the Arizona Department of Public Safety will no longer provide hard-copies of application materials, including fingerprint cards. DRTS will continue to provide each student applying to the state for a permit TWO fingerprint cards. Pay close attention to the way you fill your cards out! Replacement cards will cost $1.00 per card. Instructions and a fillable AZ CCW Permit application can be found here:
Defensive Legal Matters classes are held at
2450 S. Gilbert Rd. Chandler, AZ 85286
Class Time: 3.5-Hours
Class Cost: $80/Student
Our class dates are listed on our Facebook Page. A reminder e-mail will be sent the friday before your scheduled class, and will include details such as what to bring. Classes start promptly at 4:00pm. Please arrive early to be fingerprinted.
Why is this COurse one of the most important courses you'll ever take?
With Arizona being a Constitutional Carry state, we often get asked "Why do I need a permit?" Reciprocity with other states and avoiding the often slow NICS background check justify the permit, but a logical follow-up question would be "Why should I choose Defensive Legal Matters when I can take a 15-minute class for $20 and get my permit?"
The Arizona concealed carry permit class market is somewhat saturated, but no other program is specifically designed by both a sworn law enforcement officer and a practicing criminal defense attorney to provide in-depth legal self defense information. Our instructors have been there: On the street and in the courtroom. They have made real life shoot or no shoot decisions, sat with detectives in interview rooms, made the call whether or not to file criminal charges in shootings, and argued violent offenses before Arizona juries. While other programs meet the requirements to obtain a concealed carry permit, Defensive Legal Matters gives our students the benefit of our decades' of experience in the criminal justice system as police officers, prosecutors, and defense attorneys. Already have a permit? We still encourage you to attend, as the focus of the class isn't to meet the minimum standard to apply for a permit, but rather to ensure our students have a thorough understanding of when they can legally use non-lethal and lethal force. As part of every class, students are permitted to ask questions of all instructors, and can have a privileged attorney-client consultation to discuss specific issues at no additional charge. Finger-printing is included for those seeking to obtain a CCW permit.
Surviving a deadly force encounter isn't the only thing you need to worry about.
"Carrying a concealed weapon for defense is much more than just buying a gun and getting a permit"
There's a lot you need to know before you use your gun.